I like my skin pasty with a dash of ultramarine…

So I do some painting and I’m not half by if I do say so myself but my paintings normally look something like this

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What I describe as poster art and I definitely don’t aim to look real. But now my husband wants me to paint a picture of a viking I had sketched because honestly that’s what he makes me think of. And though I’m not too bad at drawing people, when it comes to painting them it’s a whole ‘nother ballgame. The main thing is making them look realistic in color and so I’ve been doing all kind of search on google to figure out the magical formula to skin tones, which turns out everyone has a different mix of colors for. But I’ve narrowed it down to being mainly a combination of these colors

  1. Titanium White
  2. Cadmium Red Light
  3. Cadmium Yellow Medium
  4. Yellow Ochre
  5. Burnt Sienna
  6. Burnt Umber
  7. Ultramarine Blue

Believe me, I was a bit surprised to see this combination of colors to make skin. Honestly I thought it’d be some brown and white in varying parts for varying tones. So wish me luck on making some good coloring and hopefully my viking doesn’t turn out looking like a funky alien.

Leave a Reply

