If you’re going to study, study poison…

I just reread Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder in one all nighter binge. Last night I was laying in bed wanting something to read and I’d been thinking about Poison Study and how good the whole Study series is and was like why not read it again? Next thing I know it’s 4 in the morning and my husband’s grumping at me to turn out the light. I couldn’t help it. Even already knowing where the story was headed I just couldn’t stop. It’s so good and exciting and draws you in and apparently easily deprives you of sleep. My original review of the book still stands true and I thought this time to add in the description of the book.

Book Description:

Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

poisonBOOK 1: Poison Study    5 STARS

From the beginning of this book you hit the ground running and just don’t stop. I couldn’t put it down, non stop action, I mean you never knew when something else was going to hit and it was coming from all sides. Snyder did great in showing Yelena develop relationships, and as you get to know her you find she is a strong independent woman that you can’t help but care for. The love story angle was also great. It didn’t overshadow the rest of the story, but gave you that hope that she would find true love and be happy. And I can’t help it I’m military, and the whole structure of the society just rocked to me. Of course it’s one of those that sounds good on paper, but would probably never really work, but I found it intriguing, and although I’m all for freedoms, and I think being stuck in a uniform 24/7 is just wrong, I still couldn’t help but really like it. Plus the Code of Behaviors made me laugh a little comparing it to the military Code of Conduct. It was truly a great book and all I want is to go out and grab the next one and find out what mess she gets into next.

7 thoughts on “If you’re going to study, study poison…

    • I know… she’s got several more stories out that I have to read… I love how her stories aren’t all rainbows and sunshine you know… people overcome terrible odds and evil that has befallen them… it’s amazing storytelling…

      Like

Leave a Reply

