If You Can’t Be With the One You Love… Read a Book

It is my 2 year Anniversary today and the main thing I can think is man… that’s not that long… but I’m still all like WOOT!!! and in honor of such I’m reviewing not only my favoritest book ever… that’s right… I said favoritest… but the book whose title is the name of my hubby in my cell phone… yeah I’m weird… and like to use code names in my phone… that’s just how I roll… and so here it is…

The Mad King by Edgar Rice Burroughs     description:

All Lustadt was in an uproar. The mad king had escaped. Little knots of excited men stood upon the street corners listening to each latest rumor concerning this most absorbing occurrence. Before the palace a great crowd surged to and fro, awaiting they knew not what. For ten years no man of them had set eyes upon the face of the boy-king who had been hastened to the grim castle of Blentz upon the death of the old king, his father. There had been murmurings then when the lad’s uncle, Peter of Blentz, had announced to the people of Lutha the sudden mental affliction which had fallen upon his nephew, and more murmurings for a time after the announcement that Peter of Blentz had been appointed Regent during the lifetime of the young King Leopold, “or until God, in His infinite mercy, shall see fit to restore to us in full mental vigor our beloved monarch.”

mad king

The Mad King            5 STARS

I have read this book more times than I can count… It’s got something for everyone… government intrigue, mystery, romance, action… and a little case of mistaken identity… this book isn’t about the King Leopold that’s mentioned in the description… instead it’s about an American on holiday named  Barney Custer who has the misfortune of fitting a flyer’s description of what the escaped ‘mad king’ looks like… It’s a wild ride and yet it’s not unbelievable… the set of events are a bit coincidental but it’s so awesome all the same… Barney is pretty bad ass and he does what has to be done… to not only figure out where the real Mad King is but to save all of Lutha from the tyranny that has been Peter of Blentz’s reign… it is a 2 part novel… so there’s much more to the story than just this but I’d hate to give anything away… but this truly is a great book… I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying it… maybe it’s just because I’m such a huge Burroughs fan… but the plot is great… there isn’t really any slow spots… there’s a lot of depth and background to the characters… and several pretty nifty twists to keep you guessing a long the way… so if you feel like diving into a world of excitement I’d suggest you snatch this book up as quick as you can…

One thought on “If You Can’t Be With the One You Love… Read a Book

Leave a Reply

