Apparently YA is a Slap Dash Fiasco…

I was planning on writing a review on The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch, when I noticed several people’s reviews on Goodreads having a link to this article about Crouch and her view on writing… So it’s going to be a little different… I had given the book 3 Stars and it was pretty good by the end but to be honest I just haven’t felt the need to get around to the 2nd book… And now that I’ve read this article, I feel no need to give this woman any more of my money…

First, her reference that implies that Twilight had explicit sex scenes boggles the mind… You can like Twilight, or hate it, but anyone that’s read it knows there aren’t any sex scenes until the last book and they were vague, like she describes as magical and awesome… but there’s no details… definitely nothing to call it explicit… and which werewolf was slutty? seriously lady… you’re talking crazy here… but who cares… so she’s trashing a book she obviously knows nothing about… but she isn’t the first to do that… but I do find it a little funny considering she does talk about sex a good bit in her book and her little dry humping scene is much more explicit than most YA books I’ve read usually get…

Yet what bothers me the most with this article is she basically says her work is a bit slap dash… talking about how they have to get the work done quick… because obviously kids are stupid enough to keep buying them no matter what… and how it’s just the train to hop on cause everyone’s doing it… As well as implying that anyone reading these books are uneducated… I mean if you think once someone has some college under their belt that they’re going to hate your writing… what does that say about your work… I love YA novels… heck there’s a lot of young reader novels I’ve enjoyed… because good writing is good writing as far as I’m concerned… So if you’re saying you’re just slapping something on a page that’s only good enough to draw in poor ignorant teenagers, then it doesn’t really scream good writing… and it shows…

magnolia

BOOK 1: The Magnolia League      3 Stars

To be honest after reading this article I have half a mind to drop a star but this was my original reaction to the book…

it took a while before i really got into this book… at first Alex seems like she thinks her way is the only right way and the Magnolia Leaguers seem snobby and egotistical… but after a while you really get to know them and i started liking them more and the more you figure things out the better the book gets… i love that it’s in Savannah because it is such a beautiful place … but it wasn’t till the end that really snagged me in so it was a slow builder…

So yes I will admit that by the end it was interesting… but I read this a year ago and I still haven’t felt the need to get the 2nd book… to be honest… the main thing I liked about this book was that it was in Savannah… because well that is an awesome place… and not many books are set there… in fact there’s only like one other book that I’ve read set there…

Leave a Reply

