Naked or Just Uncivlized?

For American Lit I was reading some accounts of the first encounters with the American Indians… talking about their strange customs… Álvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca’s accounts were probably the most interesting and specific to exactly what different tribes were like… but the one thing that really got me thinking was his mentioning of them walking around naked… and I was thinking about all the tribes that have gone naked and even now where there are places where the people barely dress at all… Now of course I had to discuss this with my dad… and he readily pointed out that for the most part this was merely for convenience… that those tribes live in tropical climates and well even for us that consider going naked in public taboo… the moment we hit the tropics we’re trying to go with as little clothing as possible…

Yet my main thoughts were on how Adam and Eve bit the apple and realized they were naked and were ashamed… and since then it’s always been considered a bad thing by most civilized cultures to go without clothing… which makes me wonder about those tribes where such things don’t bother them… It wasn’t long ago that I was debating on why such was inappropriate… upon which it was brought up how such things could cause someone to be tempted… but even aside from that… you don’t look at someone showing off their goodies and think it looks nice (well you might think it’s nice but you know what I mean)… instead you’ll probably think it looks slutty…

 And yet you hear about those tribes and it really doesn’t seem all that odd… I mean they’re just not civilized… but then again they can go about like that and no one within their own tribe has a problem or issues… while I get to read in yahoo news about how a school was making stricter rules on what girls could wear to school and some dance because they were distracting the guys… which implies that guys can’t control themselves… I can’t help but consider this both stupid and sad all at the same time… and really makes me wonder about our so called civilized world… it just seems the more civilized we try to make ourselves the worse people behave… maybe it’s all crazy talk but I wanted to share my thoughts with you…

2 thoughts on “Naked or Just Uncivlized?

  1. I just could not depart your web site prior to suggesting
    that I extremely enjoyed the usual information an individual supply for your visitors?
    Is going to be back steadily in order to check up on new posts

    Like

Leave a Reply

