The Problem with Lending a Book…

You see the problem isn’t when I lend a book… it’s when someone lends a book I haven’t asked for to me… and then I feel obligated to read it because I couldn’t apparently tell them no thank you to begin with… and now I have this book and of course these books are never good… but I at least now have the opportunity to warn you against ever even looking in this books direction…

celia

BOOK 1: Celia            1 STAR

I’m not even going to waste space on the description because I’m going to tell you how terrible this all was… and these aren’t spoilers…  this is me saving you from ever having to go through the horror that is this book…

First off it’s just bad writing… it’s like O’Donoghue dumbed it down as much as she could… and I’m not talking about it’s just written on a low reading level… I enjoy all books… from children to adult because good writing is good writing… but hers has no creativity, no imagination, and is about as boring a style of writing as you could get… but I tried to get past that… and the fact that I’m not a big fan of books that try to imitate reality… cause I already got my own problems why do I need to read about someone else’s… but I did honestly try to see the good in this book… see how others could like it… but it just wasn’t going to happen…

You see Celia has just lost both her parents and now her Air Force Aunt Nita is taking her back to Germany with her… and so you try to feel sorry for Celia… but you can’t because she’s just a spoiled brat who wants what she wants and she wants it now… and you can’t like the aunt because apparently she has out for Celia and is just a bitch… and I kept expecting them to resolve their differences but whenever they had a good moment something would tear them apart again and it was usually other people’s lies… like when an airman essentially tried to blackmail Nita by saying Celia had been sleeping around with all the guys in the barracks (never heard of an air force base with barracks but whatever) and Nita doesn’t even think to question the airman who could get into trouble for just implying he’s trying to get something from her but instead Nita does all she can to destroy Celia’s life…

oh like say when Nita walked in on her boyfriend trying to sexually assault Celia and believed the boyfriend when he said it was Celia’s fault… yeah that was awesome… so no charges were pressed and he got to go free… but Celia does get sent back to her home in North Carolina where she finds out she has a huge trust fund… so don’t worry she uses all the stuff that was done wrong to her by her aunt and her aunt’s boyfriend to black mail Nita into giving her the trust fund early so she can basically go on a treasure hunt… so what is this teaching us? That life sucks… oh and do anything and everything you can to get what you want even if it destroys lives in the process… and thank you O’Donoghue for reinforcing the fear of sexual assault victims everywhere who are afraid that no one will believe them and that they’ll be the ones made out to look like a whore as you so nicely put it in your book… the world really needed that…

this is honestly the only book I’ve ever read that I wanted to literally set on fire… if this was my book I would be so happy to go outside and set a bonfire and toss it in… I could roast marshmallows over it and then at least something good will come from this complete disgrace to literature everywhere… sadly though I’ll be forced to return this to the one who lent it to me… and now that I think about it he probably just wanted me to suffer as he had too… after all… misery does love company…

One thought on “The Problem with Lending a Book…

Leave a Reply

