My Blood… doesn’t like you so much

My Blood Approves by Amanda Hocking     description:

Teenager Alice Bonham’s life feels crazy after she meets Jack. With his fondness for pink Chuck Taylors and New Wave, he’s unlike anyone she knows. Then she meets his brother, Peter. Even though he can’t stand the sight of her, she’s drawn to him. Falling for two guys isn’t even the worst of her problems. Jack and Peter are vampires, and Alice finds herself caught between love and her own blood.

bloodBOOK 1: My Blood Approves       2 STARS

Though I loved the Trylle series by Amanda Hocking… this book was really bad… not bad enough to only get 1 star obviously but bad enough I have really no desire to see what happens next… I have to say my biggest problem with this book is that it just didn’t seem to be as good as I know she can be… there were some twists and surprises… I can understand how some people might enjoy this book… but the love triangle is a little messed up… you know people gave Twilight crap for Bella being so obsessed with Edward (something I didn’t really agree with)… well this is a million times worse… Alice seriously goes suicidal over Peter who she doesn’t even really like and who definitely doesn’t like her… which really bothered me… see she’s really liking Jack and Jack seems to truly care for her… and that part was pretty nice and sweet… it was honestly the involuntary attraction to Peter and her being ‘meant’ for him that was disturbing…

The thing is it’s like Hocking was really trying to be original… which is so hard with so many similar books out there… and though I will say her vampires are different from most I read about… they’re not different in a good way… it’s like this is probably why no one else has made them this way… I still think she’s a great writer and can’t wait to read some of the other books she’s come out with… but this one failed for me…

I also read some spoilers of the 2nd book and it gets no better… so I would recommend leaving this series alone…

Leave a Reply

