Day 17- Favorite Quote from a Book

“Food for thought requires a mind with teeth.” –Volly

bamarrefrom The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

I’m sure there are tons of other quotes out there that might be cooler… and I know I’ve read books that had plenty of witty lines… but this one has always stuck with me… Volly is a dragon in the book and Princess Adelina has been captured by her and so is trying to entertain Volly to keep herself alive and so she tells her about this book called The Book of Homely Truths that is basically filled with fortune cookie proverbs and so Volly decides to come up with a few of her own… this quote is one of them… I love this book because it’s about Adelina facing her fears (which are numerous) to save her sister Meryl, who was always the brave one, from the Grey Death… it’s quite an adventurous story but Volly is one of my favorite characters… even if she is rather evil… hmmm… perhaps not evil… she’s just a dragon and dragons always seem to think they’re smarter than everyone else and so can do what they please… and it’s always fun to see the smart ones get out witted…

And if I’m supposed to actually talk about the quote… well I don’t know… I suppose for me it always meant in order to learn, or take in knowledge, you have to have a mind that is hungry for it… that is ready to sink it’s teeth in and devour every ounce thrown it’s way… either way… it definitely makes me think…

Leave a Reply

