Ned has been INTERVIEWED!!!

I’d like to thank Ned for not only answering my questions but obviously putting a lot of thought into them… it was awesome to get to know him… and I hope everyone will enjoy this interview as much as I did… 😀

ned1)     What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

Without question, the introduction part of my interview would be a lot better if I had a really cool name like “Blaze” or “Vin.” But my name is Ned, which doesnt set an exciting tone. However, if all goes well, weve just passed through the low point of this interview. Ive been a newspaper humor columnist for 15 years, the last year of which has been in syndication through News Media Corporation. A began blogging a little over a year ago and, after careful consideration and meeting with a team of marketing analysts, titled my blog with the compelling name: Neds Blog www.nedhickson.wordpress.com . Im also on Twitter (@NedHickson) and Facebook. To be honest, Im still not sure why but Im told it will help me establish a media empire rivaling our local public access channel.

2) Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

Other than writing, which is both a hobby and a career, I honestly have to say my favorite thing to do is spend time with my wife. It doesnt matter what were doing cleaning house, watching a movie, grocery shopping, performing a hostage extraction  with a team of Navy SEALS we always have a lot of laughs. Ive also been a volunteer firefighter for four years, which I enjoy a lot. Especially when its cold outside.

3) How long have you been writing? How many books have you written? They don’t have to be published.

Ive been writing since I was about 10. Im happy to say my writing has progressed a lot since then, mostly because I never stopped writing. Even as a chef for 10 years, before I stumbled into journalism, I was always writing on days off. During that time I wrote countless short stories (horror, mostly I wasnt very happy in my first marriage) that were published in small-press magazines. I also wrote a mystery novel called No Safe Harbor, which Im hoping to find a publisher for next year. Also, over the last 15 years, Ive written nearly 500 columns. Im on 489. When I get to 500, Im going to celebrate with a new typewriter ribbon.

4) What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?ned's book

My favorite genre to write is anything that involves humor. Not just because I love sharing a laugh with people, but also because to do it right is very challenging. Its not enough to just have a funny story. You have to know how to wield the tools, which is a constantly evolving process. Sort of like a Chia pet, except without the muddy paste.

If theres muddy paste involved, youre definitely doing it wrong.

Or you have a new baby.

5) Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up…

This December, I have my first book coming out, which is a collection of columns that were chosen randomly by wild squirrels hand-picked from 15 my years at Siuslaw News.

Its called Humor at the Speed of Life and is being published by Port Hole Books. It will be available at Walmart, Amazon.com, my blog, and on book shelves wherever security is lax.

6) How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

Being a columnist, I’m fortunate that my palette is pretty broad. I write about family life, social trends, personal experiences anything that catches my attention. Ive written about super-heated pickles, glow-in-the-dark mice, how Breath-Rite strips wont work on a Labrador, running for Governor of California while living in Oregon…

Im constantly inspired by life, society and the ins and outs of daily life.

And no, I dont take drugs. After reading back over that short list of subject matter, I could see how that question might come up.

7) What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

As for my writing strengths and weaknesses, I work out a lot moving my daughters collection of Twilight  books off the kitchen table. Ive also been told I have a conversational style and can be witty. This has been told to me by people whose opinions I respect, regardless of how much theyve had to drink so I believe them.

My weaknesses:

a) Definitely spelling; Im a horrable horible really bad speller.

b) Editing; I really have to focus myself in order to do a good job editing my work.

c) Writing sex scenes Yes, youd be surprised how many sex scenes I write as a humor columnist. They never make it in, however, because theyre so bad.

8) After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

Marketing can be tough. Ironically, while the Internet and self publishing has made it easier to get your writing in print, it has also made standing out in the crowd that much more difficult. In short: theres a lot of white noise out there and competing with it isnt easy. One of the reasons I started a blog was to connect with others and utilize it as a marketing tool. Over the last year Ive gained a little over 2,000 followers, about a third of whom found their way to me via my Facebook and Twitter accounts.

In addition, one thing I insisted on when I was offered the chance to syndicate was receiving advertising for my book in all the newspapers that carry my column thats about 35 across the country. Between marketing the book through my blog and newspapers, Im hoping to create a marketing buzz equal to a really large horse fly.

9) What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

As for writers who are just starting out, my advice is to write regularly. And by that I mean looking at your schedule and determining a time that you can put aside each day, week or even month that you can commit to without fail or excuse. Whether youre married with kids or single and just getting started in life as an adult, having that time set aside gives you a goal and establishes a commitment to your writing. It’s important to establish a routine instead of relying on opportunity or inspiration to write. If you make it a routine, eventually your creativity will automatically prepare for that time an hour a day or once a week for two hours, whatever you decide and youll be surprised by how productive you will be when your creativity begins to anticipate that routine.

Sort of like Pavlov’s dogs, except hopefully without all the drooling.

 

25 thoughts on “Ned has been INTERVIEWED!!!

  1. […] However, if all goes well, we’ve just passed through the low point of this interview. I’ve been a newspaper humor columnist for 15 years, the last year of which has been in syndication through News Media Corporation. A began blogging a little over a year ago and, after careful consideration and meeting with a team of marketing analysts, titled my blog with the compelling name: Ned’s Blog. I’m also on Twitter and Facebook. To be honest, I’m still not sure why — but I’m told it will help me establish a media empire rivaling our local public access channel… (Read more here) […]

    Like

  2. Just how the heck do you manage to be funny and mildly instructive at the same time, Ned?

    Seriously … I’m dead jealous of your talent to be so damned funny … whatever you write about. *grumpy now* 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

