Stardust… Book vs Movie

Stardust  by  Neil Gaiman   description:

Young Tristran Thorn will do anything to win the cold heart of beautiful Victoria—even fetch her the star they watch fall from the night sky. But to do so, he must enter the unexplored lands on the other side of the ancient wall that gives their tiny village its name. Beyond that old stone wall, Tristran learns, lies Faerie—where nothing, not even a fallen star, is what he imagined.

stardust

I actually saw the movie first and was completely delighted when I heard there was a book… as is the case where I see the movie first I do tend to be a bit more lenient on it… but considering the myriad of things going on in this one book and all the characters and mischief afoot… I think it did a rather great job… I’d give them both 5 STARS because I just love them so much… for the most part the movie does hold true to the main plot of the story… it creates a wonderful land full of witches and unicorns and fallen stars that happen not to be a lump burning rock… it is exciting and magical… but the book on the other hand gives a lot more to the characters… which is only usual… and the adventure takes much longer than the 1 week Tristan is given in the movie… and because of that he does many more things… also the characters in the book aren’t so inherently evil… the witches are trying to kill them, but there is much more added to them that gives them this air of mystery… not just 3 women trying to live forever… but ancient ones of an unknown past… and even Victoria isn’t just some haughty girl who thinks Tristan is beneath her… you discover her motives in all that she’s done… which is why it never bothers me to read a book after seeing the movie because even in good adaptations there is still so much more to discover… and with both of these I have read and watched them numerous times and enjoyed them just as much as I did the first time… if not more… definitely worth checking out if you love a world a fantastical world of mystery and adventure…

3 thoughts on “Stardust… Book vs Movie

  1. This is one of the movies that fell through the cracks for me. I’ve seen it advertised, but forgot about it quickly. I’m assuming ’cause I had other movies that took my attention away! Nonetheless, I saw De Niro and Pfeiffer recently in the movie The Family–their chemistry in that film is amazing! So now, I’m writing down this title on my To-Watch list so I can pick it up when I get a free moment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

