Stephen Payseur has been INTERVIEWED!!!

me1.      What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

My name is Stephen Payseur. My friends call me Steve. I do have a small presence on the internet. My website is http://stephenpayseur.cspubco.com/wp/

I am on Facebook and  on LinkedIn

My books are also for sale on Amazon. You can find out all about them at Amazon

2.      Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

There are 2 things I really like to do. The first is fly fishing. I haven’t done too much of that lately, but I have plans to seriously change that shortcoming this Spring. I also enjoy golf, but golf doesn’t like me nearly as much as I like it. If you can’t beat me in a round of golf, you should probably take up a different sport.

3.      How long have you been writing? How many books have you written? They don’t have to be published.

I have been writing most of my life, but actually writing books since around 1998. My first book was titled Effective Selling and was about what I had learned in many, many years of working in sales. The content of that book was pretty good, I thought, but the book looked terrible, so I never marketed it. The content of that book did turn out to be an online class that is offered through most Community Colleges in the USA..

I have written seven books.

4.      What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?

Most of the books I have written are nonfiction, primarily historical. I like writing those because I really enjoy research, and think I am pretty good at it. I read those type of books but I also enjoy science fiction and just about everything by Stephen King and John Grisham.

5.      Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up.Lessons

Currently I am writing a sequel to my first fiction book, Lessons from the Creek, which was published a little over a year ago. I hope to have it finished by Summer.

6.      How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

I do a rough outline for all my books and then “flesh it out” before I begin writing. It seems to make things work smoother for me, particularly on the nonfiction side. I tried that on my first fiction book and it didn’t work out so well. That book had been percolating around in my head for a while and really just flowed from that.

7.      What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

Research is definitely my strength, both conducting the actual research and organizing it. I guess I would say that my weakness is that I like to finish my projects. I have to make myself slow down, re-read and re-write.

8.      After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

I give away a lot of books to, hopefully, drive interest in them. I contact blogs like yours for any assistance I can get. Speaking engagements sell more books for me that anything else that I do. It is enjoyable for me and I like to think it is for my audiences. Book clubs are a wonderful resource and a great place to talk about my books. I also have a very good relationship with 3 or 4 local newspapers who almost always will give me an article on my newest book.

As for tips to share, I always have copies of my books in the trunk of my car. This is not so much to sell them as it is to give some to people I run into who might be able to promote them. They appreciate it and I appreciate the help that I get from them.

Another tip concerns speaking engagements. I never try to sell a book at one of those. Of course, I have them with me if someone should ask where they can get a copy, and they always do. It is usually the first question I am asked. It’s not unusual to sell 20, 30, or 40 books that way.

9.      What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

First, write your book. Don’t wait, just do it. Let lots of people read it, especially people who will be brutally honest, but kind, with you. If it’s no good, you need to know it. I also think it is important to not make selling a bunch of books as your goal. Your goal should be to put your thoughts on paper. The sense of accomplishment in doing that cannot be overstated. Finally, writing is supposed to be fun. Make sure it is.

One thought on “Stephen Payseur has been INTERVIEWED!!!

Leave a Reply

