Amanda Aksel has been INTERVIEWED

AmandaPromo21.      What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

I’m Amanda Aksel, you can visit me online at www.amandaaksel.com

 Facebook: wwww.facebook.com/amandaaksel

 twitter: @amandaaksel

2.      Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

I love going to the beach. There is no better way to recharge my batteries. I also enjoy playing Sara Bareilles on the piano.

3.       How long have you been writing? How many books have you written? They don’t have to be published.

I’ve been writing since I was a kid. I wrote a novel in high school, and then wrote some screenplays in my young adulthood. The Man Test was originally a screenplay.

4.      What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?

I write commercial women’s fiction, which is also my favorite form of fiction to read. Ever since I was a teen, I’ve been interested in women’s issues with love, careers, and life’s hurdles.

5.      Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up…TheManTest_Cover1

I’m working on the sequel to The Man Test. It’s titled The Commitment Test. We’ll get to see what happens to Marin Johns next.

6.      How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

I usually create an outline based on chapters. I also name my chapters, which is not as common anymore. I always create character profiles for my main characters. It’s the only way I can know what motivates them, and where they come from. I hope readers find my character’s memorable and enjoyable.

7.      What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

I think my writing is simple, and I’ve been told my novel reads like a movie. This may be considered a weakness, but many readers appreciate it.

8.      After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

This is my first novel, so it’s hard to say what I do. I plan to have a cover reveal, blog tour,giveaways, consistent blogs and social media posts. I’m hoping to engage with my readers in anyway I can.

9.      What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

My advice comes from a dear friend and recently deceased author, Michael Palmer. Writing is hard, be fearless . . .

2 thoughts on “Amanda Aksel has been INTERVIEWED

Leave a Reply

