The Commitment Test

BOOK 1: The Man Test  by  Amanda Aksel

The Commitment Test  description:

When a Valentine’s Day proposal doesn’t come with an engagement ring, Marin Johns begins to wonder if she and James will ever get married. As her closest friends begin to move forward with their lives, she refuses to be left behind.
Hope is restored as she devises a plan to get James down on one knee by becoming the ideal mate. Everything seems to fall into place until her college boyfriend resurfaces after a decade with his own ideas about their future. Will Marin choose the man of her dreams or the diamond ring she’s always dreamed of?

TheManTest_Cover2The Commitment Test 3 STARS

So the majority of this book was a 2 STAR book, but it had its’ moments and the ending was a surprise, but felt right and I have to give it credit for that. For a large part I know most of my problem with this book is some of my own personal problems. It started off on a bad foot for me, because I hate it when people ask “when are you getting married” or “when are you having kids” without realizing the sort of damage they’re doing. And it made me sort of understand why Marin went off the deep end again, but ultimately a lot of the time it just seemed like Marin was being a bit juvenile and falling back into the same trap as the first book. Also, while it’s okay for different people to have different opinions I found it a bit unreasonable that everyone in this book was constantly saying that marriage is just a piece of paper, and that you don’t need it to be happy. It was especially hypocritical coming from those who got married, and once more generalized a group of people by saying that all divorced people are against being married again. Being someone who went through a bad first marriage, I know that for a fact to not be true, and it’s not just me, but many others I know. And honestly if someone doesn’t eventually tell me what happened between Andy and Telly I’m gonna be pissed. Half the book was carried just by my hope that I would eventually find out. Along with all the other side characters, and while it was good that I enjoyed the other characters’ lives and were curious about them, a book shouldn’t be carried by them, but for most of it Marin just lacked the interest to keep the story going. So while I would very much love to read another book by Askel I might be a little hesitant to read another about Marin.

Leave a Reply

