Dirty Blood

Dirty Blood  by  Heather Hidenbrand    description:

I killed a girl last night. I did it with my bare hands and an old piece of pipe I found lying next to the dumpster. But that’s not the part that got me. The part that scared me, the part I can’t seem to wrap my head around and still has me reeling, was that when she charged me, her body shifted – and then she was a wolf. All snapping teeth and extended claws. But by the time I stood over her lifeless body, she was a girl again. That’s about the time I went into shock… And that was the moment he showed up.

Now, all I can do is accept the truths that are staring me in the face. One, Werewolves do exist. And Two, I was born to kill them.

dirty bloodBOOK 1: Dirty Blood    4 STARS

I really enjoyed this book… it’s always a nice change when a paranormal book isn’t about vampires and I liked the world Hildenbrand created between the werewolves and hunters… the hunters themselves are also something paranormal which allows them to be strong enough to hunt… and it isn’t like it’s “oh all werewolves are just misunderstood” sort of thing either… Plus my favorite part is Tara… it is so wonderful to finally have a hero that doesn’t spend half the book complaining about suddenly not being just a normal person… Tara realizes right off the bat there’s no reason to fight who she is and dives right into this new world she discovers… The only thing I didn’t like about this book is whenever it would flash to her high school… that part was a bit cliche and her friends were such cookie cutter characters… ones the slut that has entranced every guy in school… and of course there’s the dorky shy girl who has to wear glasses and they called librarian because we all know librarians aren’t sexxy at all… talk about a stereotype that needs to be punched in the face… but luckily those scenes were fleeting and all the rest of the characters felt more like real people with genuine personalities… I can’t wait to read the next book…

2 thoughts on “Dirty Blood

Leave a Reply

