Lola Smirnova has been INTERVIEWED!!!

Book Cover1. What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

Lola Smirnova

Website: http://lolasmirnova.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BookTwisted

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/twistedlolasmirnova

2. Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

I love to spend time with my family and friends. I enjoy discovering new hobbies once in a while too. Two years ago I was taking the golf lessons. These days I spend a lot of time at the shooting range.

3. Twisted is based in part on your own life experiences. Was writing about such hard for you? And is there a reason you chose to write about it?

It was not easy, that’s for sure. The stories like Twisted are often not spoken out, because the victims of sex industry suffer from shame and denial. I think we need to bring more awareness to the people about these issues, help them to understand that the sex workers are humans who need the support rather than judgment and ignorance.

4. Do you have any other books planned yet? And are they similar to Twisted or do you consider branching out into other genres?

I am about to release a sequel to Twisted – Craved. I’m not planning to change my genre yet.

5. What sort of books do you prefer to read?

I enjoy a good read no matter what genre it is.

6. How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

I plot the story to stay focused but as the writing goes I change it all the time. To be spontaneous, that’s what makes me savor and truly enjoy my affair with my computer, turning every day of boring routine into an exciting date.

7. What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

My strength is the honesty. Weakness is my grammar, cause English is not my native language. But luckily I have a great team of editors to help me with it 😉

8. After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

I’m trying different marketing tools I’ve learned about from the “how-to” books: creating an author website, being active on my social media pages (Facebook and Twitter), interacting with the readers and fellow writers through numerous websites like Goodreads.com and some special Facebook groups, creating giveaways, giving interviews, entering competitions, hiring professional publicists, advertising, blogging, etc…

The most effective way of getting the book into the hands of readers for the aspiring authors, in my opinion, is Amazon’s KDP Select Program. Kindle Countdown Deals and especially Free Promotions gave my book the biggest exposure so far.

9. What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

For this I’ll use the wise words of Richard Bach: “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit”.
So, DON’T GIVE UP, my friends! 

One thought on “Lola Smirnova has been INTERVIEWED!!!

Leave a Reply

