Career of Evil

BOOK 1: The Cuckoo’s Calling  by  Robert Galbraith

BOOK 2: The Silkworm

Career of Evil  description:

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman’s severed leg.

Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible – and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.

With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them…

Career of Evil is the third in the highly acclaimed series featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin Ellacott. A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, it is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives.

Cormoran Strike is back, with his assistant Robin Ellacott, in a mystery based around soldiers returning from war.

career of evilBOOK 3:  Career of Evil   4 STARS

I loved that this really gave more insight into Strike and Robin, things that happened in their past that helped shaped the person they are today. While the story of Strike’s childhood has been gone over in past books, and we know in general what his life was like, we now get a closer look at his teenage years and the events leading up to his mother’s death. Which brought in the interesting character that is Shanker, who was a fun guy for the two to be working with, although I had been rather hoping Strike’s half brother might would show up again. Robin, on the other hand, has been shown as having a fairly normal life, and while her family, and of course her fiancee, have been a big part of the other books, we also get to see why she’s so happy to get to work with Strike as a detective. This book really gave their characters a new life, as well as a new drive to solve the murders that are being thrown their way, as Strike’s past comes back to haunt him.

It was also interesting that in this book you get to see the point of view from the killer, and that from the beginning Strike had 3 viable suspects for who might be coming for him, which continued to help set this apart from the past books. It’s nice to see that Galbraith isn’t falling into a repetitive pattern of how Strike falls into high profile cases. What I wasn’t too happy about was that the clues that led Strike to the killer in the end were so vague that there wasn’t any way for the reader to have really picked up on it on their own. While I wasn’t able to figure out who the killer was in the Silkworm, at least when it was revealed the evidence really fell into place, even though Galbraith was rather sneaky about it. Perhaps because the 3 suspects all have plenty of evidence to lead you to think either of them could be him that it had to be something little to finally tip Strike off, but I do find it a little unfair. However, the loss of one star ultimately was because of the numerous typos that kept snapping me from my reading, and anything that takes me out of the world being created and has me staring at a sentence figuring out what it was supposed to say is not good. Regardless, though, the ending has me wishing the next book was already out.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s