A Christmas Carol

“I wear the chain I forged in life,” replied the Ghost. “I made it link by link, and yard by yard; I girded it on of my own free will, and of my own free will I wore it…” – Charles Dickens

 

christmas carol

A Christmas Carol    5 STARS

Not gonna bother with a description, because who doesn’t know this story? And if you don’t then hurry up and grab the book cause it’s the perfect Christmas story. And since I love sharing the quote above every Christmas since I’ve known it, I figured I should finally read the book it came from. I’ve always loved the movies, mainly the Muppet’s version, and I can’t believe how long it took me to get to this. I loved how Dickens told it not in just some generic 3rd person, but as if he’s sitting there telling you the story, inserting his own little comments here and there, which added a bit of a dry sense of humor to the story. And I’ve seen people do the darker version of this and the more cheerful, but while this was very much a ghost story, he never did try to make it scary. Even with the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come, it was more the terrible truth than a horrifying tale. Because this is supposed to be an uplifting story, to show the true meaning of Christmas. That we should give with a  cheerful heart, to care for our fellow man, and to bring a light to the darkness. But reading the book itself, there’s a part with the nephew talking about Scrooge, and it made me think that it’s also to show that people like Scrooge are the ones who needs people to share the Christmas spirit with them most of all, no matter how much they act like they hate it. We all need that sort of goodness in our life. So read this because it’s wonderful, and God bless us, everyone!

Leave a Reply

