Barbarian’s Mate

BOOK 1: Ice Planet Barbarians  by  Ruby Dixon

BOOK 2: Barbarian Alien

BOOK 3: Barbarian Lover

BOOK 4: Barbarian Mine

BOOK 5: Ice Planet Holiday

BOOK 6: Barbarian’s Prize

Barbarian’s Mate   description:

‘Resonance’ is supposed to be a dream – that’s when your soulmate is chosen for you. And everyone on the ice planet has hooked up with a big, hunky soulmate of their own…except me. So do I want a mate? Heck yeah. More than anything, all I’ve ever wanted is to be loved by someone.

Except that the soulmate chosen for me? My least favorite person on the darn ice planet. Haeden’s the most cranky, disapproving, unpleasant, overbearing male alien…so why is it that my body sings when he gets close? Why is he working so hard to prove to me that he’s not as awful as I think he is?

I hate him…don’t I?

barbarian mateBOOK 7: Barbarian’s Mate   5 STARS

I have been waiting for this book since Josie and Haeden were first brought up, and it was everything I hoped for and more. Pretty much all of the books have dealt with the girls resisting resonance, and wanting to have a choice when it comes to who they’re going to be stuck with for the rest of their life. However, this felt so much more meaningful, because Josie was the one who wanted resonance. She wanted the insta-family, and to finally have someone love her and want her forever. So for her to feel like she’s now trapped with someone who hates her, it was heartbreaking. Especially as you get to know more about what happened to her, and how she’s never truly been loved by anyone in her life. Although, Haeden’s story was a tragic one as well, and it really helped make them perhaps the perfect couple. But I loved how Dixon used this book to show that real love doesn’t always look like how we might imagine it. Some people are lovey dovey and affectionate, and some people may be more reserved but show it through their actions. Plus it was pretty great getting to discover more of their world, and terrifying to see how much this is basically a land still in the Jurassic age. I hope her next books really get them discovering some of the areas beyond, because it was such a tease in this one. I have to know what else is out there.

4 thoughts on “Barbarian’s Mate

Leave a Reply

