Alan Jansen has been INTERVIEWED!!!

Jansen1. What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

My name is Alan Jansen. You can find me on LinkedIn and at my author homepage at http://www.alan-jansen-books.com

  1. Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

I enjoy travel, the Scandinavian Solstice/Summer, dogs and cats, movies – science fiction and humorous movies especially, and reading of course. I also try and listen as often as time permits to nostalgic pop music of Abba, Beatles, and other British and American Pop music from the sixties onwards.

3.How long have you been writing? How many books have you written? They don’t have to be published.

I gave up a senior position at a Swedish Telecom Company to concentrate on a writing career a few years ago. Since then I have written and published my debut book One Flew over the Banyan Tree in 2015, available at all reputable online booksellers, both soft cover and e-book. I have two unpublished books that I have written and am looking around for a publisher.

  1. What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?

Humor is the genre I love best, although I enjoy writing in the science fiction and Gothic genre too. As far as humor is concerned I was/am deeply influenced by the great British writer humor writer P.G. Wodehouse’s wonderful books. I started reading them as a schoolboy, borrowing from the school library. My interest in the Science fiction and Gothic genres followed later on. In the science fiction genre I became interested after a letter exchange with the late Sir Arthur C. Clarke. My Gothic interest was sparked off reading the books of the American author Anne Rice.

  1. Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up…

I am currently writing and editing my third book which is in the science fiction genre. It’s a sort of “ultimate” science fiction piece that would make a sequel impossible. The story is about the fate of the Earth as related by two energy-photon beings possessing super intelligence. The duo have been around since the Big Bang. As the Universe disappears into oblivion the two beings re-collect the major events that happened on planet earth – their favorite planet – up to the time of its destruction. In the last chapter they watch as the last star in the universe fades away into a gigantic black hole.

  1. How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?BanyanTree

For me it’s actually some kind of auto-drive thing. A lot of my projects and ideas start off in my head at all times of the day as I reflect on certain characters I intend to write about. At that stage I have a rough idea of what and whom I am going to write about and expand on them as I chug along. Later on I put together a list of chapters and a book title adding text to my ideas – improving and editing the text as I move forward. In-between I do a lot of research on the subject I am writing to get most of my facts correct. This process is multiple – that is to say I have ideas for more than one book at a time. My friends always complain that I seem lost in thought and quite rightfully so. I am indeed often lost in the world in the world of the books I am trying to create.

  1. What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

I wouldn’t dare to compare myself to writers like O. Henry, Wodehouse, or Roald Dahl, but I do believe that I have a genuine knack of telling a good story that would appeal to most readers.  I don’t know what my weaknesses are right now, at least where writing is concerned. Maybe as time goes by I will discover them, for like most writers I am sure I have weaknesses that readers will point out eventually.

  1. After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

I guess hiring a professional publicity-creating company is a good tip for any budding writer. Established writers don’t have to worry too much about this as they have already established reputations and a vast fan following in its wake. For my first novel One Flew over the Banyan Tree I have hired a Publicity Company in the USA (Smith Publicity Inc) to do the honors. I am hoping that this kind of publicity will give a boost to my books popularity and eventually increase sales. Creating a homepage on the internet is also a way to market an author’s work, as are other social outlets.

  1. What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

Don’t give up. If you truly believe, and are confident that you really are a good writer, don’t allow reviewers and individuals to dampen your enthusiasm with scathing comments. For me personally, I have received 2 excellent reviews from professional reviewers Clarion USA and Blue Ink USA, but there may be negative reviews too that I might discover later on. If you truly believe you are a good writer you must be prepared to take the good with the bad. Some reviewers can be downright mean and destroy an author’s reputation, but a true professional reviewer from an established newspaper or magazine will always try and give an honest opinion. This is my experience so far…

Leave a Reply

