Katherine Mitchell has been INTERVIEWED!!!

Katherine_Mitchell1.What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

Katherine MK Mitchell

2. Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

Tennis, champagne, lunch with friends, art exhibits, helping out the elderly.

3. How long have you been writing?  How many books have you written?  They don’t have to be published.

I have been writing all my life.  I started with poems and essays as a young student.  After taking a playwright course, my one-act play was selected for production as one of three in a summer showcase off-Broadway. Later, after reading and studying a great deal, I researched, developed and wrote I believe eleven screenplays, three of which were optioned by production companies.   During the same period of time I wrote and sold episodes to ongoing television series.  It was after leaving Hollywood and moving to Florida when I turned to the novel form.  Since 2011 I have researched, developed and co-published three women’s fiction novels.

4. What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?

I like reading and watching people stories, exciting, active fiction with a touch of mystery.  Historical novels especially interest me; how will the author handle the challenge of filling in the story while knowing the actual outcome.  I prefer reading high quality literary fiction and writing it.  The quality is becoming more and more important to me.

5. Are you currently writing anything now?  If so, tell us about it?  If not make something up.

I am working on my Memoir which is a difficult project.  I have to search inside myself and often remember things that I have already forgotten.  This will take a long time because I am also busy marketing my current novel, Shelby’s Way…Maybe.  It is so good but it is so much work, time away from writing.

6. How do you typically begin your projects?  Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea?  Do you focus on just one at a time?Shelbys Way Cover

Jumping head first with the initial idea is totally amateur.  An initial idea needs depth, needs drama, needs emotions and direction and characters to develop these and other elements.  There can be areas of grey in the writer’s mind but there must be at least 80% of story continuity and 80% of character development established.  Otherwise, it will be a lot of rambling.  You should focus on one project at the time and while you can make notes about others, most importantly you have to serve the instant story and satisfy your reader.

7. What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength?  Your weakness?

I write great dialogue and surprising twists and turns and elements.  I have no specific weakness.  My concentration is on improving overall quality and making the story whole.  I am growing, becoming more interesting and daring to go deep in both story and character.  Clearly, each piece I write is better than the previous.

8. After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing.  What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you would like to share?

If I knew what to do, I would be a bestseller.

9. What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

Don’t talk about writing.  Do it.  I was always fascinated by law.  I have carefully balanced out the pros and cons between my interest in law and my need for writing.  My love of writing won.  But you are not a writer if you only talk about it.  I have added up the hours per day, per week, per month that it would take for me to go to law school while holding a full-time job.  Then I made myself take the same amount of time to write, to research, to study and write.  That’s when I had something to show.  I was a writer.

4 thoughts on “Katherine Mitchell has been INTERVIEWED!!!

  1. Thank you R G for interviewing me! I enjoyed our communication and look forward to more. I hope you or someone in your circle with a taste for women’s fiction would review my novel, SHELBY’S WAY . . . MAYBE and give me some understanding of what readers think. But even if you don’t have time, I am happy to have been interviewed by you! I wish you much luck in the future.
    Katherine [MK]

    Like

    • Thank you for answering my questions. It’s always great to hear from authors like yourself. And I’ll see what I can do about a review for your book.

      Like

  2. I am trying to figure out “my Facebook Page” and clearly I am an amateur in this area. I don’t know about you, RGDole, but I need to write more than I need to chat on Facebook. But, I am informed that I cannot lock myself up in my study and come out only when I have a new book.
    So, I have to learn.
    Be well, be happy
    Katherine [MK]

    Like

    • Networking on things like Facebook and Twitter really does help attract people. For the longest time I just did my blog, and once I started expanding out I got a lot more followers and were able to connect to more people. It doesn’t take much, just the occasional updates on how your books are going really help your readers feel connected to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

