Robert DiGiacomo has been INTERVIEWED!!!

  1. What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

robRobert DiGiacomo. Twitter; @rpdigiacomo. Facebook; Robert DiGiacomo, or Robert DiGiacomo Builders. Website; robdigiacomo.com, email; rob@robdigiacomo.com

  1. Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

I enjoy reading, traveling, happy hour is great fun, too.

  1. How long have you been writing? How many books have you written? They don’t have to be published.

I started writing maybe 10 years ago. I didn’t really know how, so I had to read and read and read books on how to write. I also passed my stories to friends and family for their opinions. They liked it, so I continued to churn out stories until I formulated a complete novel. I’ve written and published two complete books—The Boxed Angel, and most recently The Blood Led Her. I also wrote a few short stories, presently sitting in my computer. I’m working on fitting them into novels or just keeping them for me to read.

  1. What genres do you like writing the most? And why? Is this genre the same as the one you prefer to read?High Resolution Front Cover_6090244

Not sure I write in any one specific genre. My novels have been categorized as—suspense, thriller, mystery, historical fiction, Christian fiction, action adventure, supernatural fiction. I enjoy stories that have great characters and I like to use pieces or events of the past that effect the present. I like the characters to have real feelings and emotions to propel the story forward.

I read nearly all genres. I’ve read everything from Gone with the Wind, to Harry Potter.

  1. Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up…

I am currently writing my third Al Campo thriller. I’m continuing the story from The Blood Letter where I left a serious cliff hanger at the end. My readers have already demanded a new book. I am bringing all the main characters back into another (hopefully) compelling story. I also write side stories, sometimes I get a feeling or I experience something that clicks, and I write a little tale. Maybe to use later or just to have.

I wrote a short about an experience my daughter had with a dog. He was mean and nasty and didn’t like anybody. Somehow though, the dog took to my daughter. It was, in my mind, beyond reason, so I wrote it all out.

  1. How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

I usually get a feeling about a certain topic or a past event I read about that I find interesting and then can’t stop thinking about. I hear a voice and it tells me to have this fantastic ending. I usually know something of the conclusion before I start. Then I use that topic, and I just roll with what I hear in my head. As I write, I listen and see, and my story comes at me. I just write it all down.

I try to focus on one story at a time, but sometimes ideas pop into my head, and I write it out. Sometimes it makes it into the current project, sometimes into the next. I had the story of The Blood Led Her already while finishing The Boxed Angel.

  1. What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

My style of writing is different than most. I never went to college, never took any creative writing classes and almost failed English in school. I learned by doing and reading how to do it, and by reading hundreds of novels. That is my greatest strength—I write what I like and I don’t follow any format or scheme. I write from my heart and for myself.

My weakness? I suck at grammar and I’m terrible with spelling

  1. After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

Before I publish, I give the manuscript to several people to read. I need an unbiased opinion because I never know if what I wrote works. I give it to people I trust will be truthful and critical. If they like it, then I move on to publishing. After that I go to social media and put it out there. Then I have a book signing event at a local tavern (what better place to convince people to come out and have a good time?) and invite all of my friends and contacts. I have a construction company, so I have about a thousand contacts. It gets people reading, so then I ask them to post reviews on Amazon or on their own social media. After that, I usually higher a publicist who can get me more local and national attention. I constantly self-promote through my business and social media channels.

  1. What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

The best advice is to read a lot and write a lot. Write what you love, what you see and what is in your heart.

Also, don’t expect everyone to love it as much as you do, but don’t let that stop you.

 

Robert DiGiacomo resides the historical area of Philadelphia, where he uses past events to shape his writing in the present. He works as a general contractor and lives on the Main Line with his family, working during the day and writing by night. The Blood Led Her is his second novel and a sequel to his first, The Boxed Angel.

 

For more information, connect with DiGiacomo on his website, or through Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn.

 

The Blood Led Her is now available on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

