Calm: Slice of Life Short Stories

Due to the number of books in this series I’m just going to add the link to the list of books I’ve reviewed by Ruby Dixon.

Calm  description:

Calm
One morning, gentle Maylak wakes up and feels a sense of oncoming dread. As the tribe’s healer, it is her job to ensure that everyone is safe, happy, and healthy… and they are.

So what can be threatening her people?

Moving Day
Farli helps move Maddie into the new ‘girls’ cave while avoiding some prospective suitors.

These are two slice of life short stories set in the ICE PLANET BARBARIANS series and do not stand alone. They should be read after BARBARIAN’S TOUCH and are a little bit of sweetness and family life for those waiting for the next full book release.

calmBOOK 7.5: Calm  3 STARS

This story was good, and it definitely makes me excited about the next book in the series. However, it is just a teaser, and I wonder how necessary it really is to the series. I mean it sets up a story to come, but it doesn’t really hold much detail on its’ own. The best part of both stories was getting a better point of view from the sa-khui, especially one like Maylak, because we haven’t really gotten any view points from the women sa-khui, and since she’s already married to see how she views a lot of the new customs coming in, like kissing. Even Farli’s really short story helped with this. But my issue that brought down the rating was that both of these short stories could’ve easily been full tales, and I feel a little jipped that we didn’t get more from this. I don’t know about the other readers, but while I do love the good lovin’ side of these stories, I’ve become so invested in the characters that it’s so much more than that now. I like the full story, and even in this where the characters are already settled, and it’s more about an unknown threat than any romance really had me drawn in. And I wonder if Dixon realizes that she could easily make a thrilling story out of a lot of this that doesn’t really focus on the human relationships and her readers would still love it. Well, at least this reader would.

Leave a Reply

