Lesley L. Smith has been INTERVIEWED!!!

(Photo by Patrick Campbell/University of Colorado)
(Photo by Patrick Campbell/University of Colorado)
  1. What’s your name? Where can we find you? Blog? Twitter? Facebook?

Hi, I’m Lesley L. Smith. You can find me at my website: www.lesleylsmith.com or my blog electricspec.blogspot.com.

  1. Other than writing, what is your favorite hobby or thing you enjoy for fun?

My favorite thing to do is read; science fiction and urban fantasy novels are my faves. If I’m being honest, I also really enjoy watching TV. Right now there are a ton of neat fantasy/science fiction shows on various media. Since I’m being honest, I also really like eating: Mexican food, Chinese food, sushi, and desserts, anything chocolate. Basically, anything chocolate is fun. And drinking—especially craft beers. Well, you asked! J

  1. How long have you been writing? What genres have you written? They don’t have to be published.

I’ve been writing pretty much my whole life, mumble-mumble years. But I got serious about it about fifteen years ago. I try to write every day. About 95 percent of what I write is science fiction and the rest is fantasy or horror.

  1. What has been the greatest influence to your writing? Other authors, life experiences, etc…  

A huge influence in my life was author Isaac Asimov. I blame him for me becoming a physicist and for loving science fiction. Physics has a huge influence on my writing. I also love the writing of Connie Willis and Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire series.

  1. Are you currently writing anything now? If so tell us about it? If not make something up…The Quantum Cop Cover

I’m finishing up edits on a fun new space operetta called A Jack By Any Other Name in which a man is murdered and his clone has to solve the crime. It takes place on a spaceship called The Shakespeare. I also just started book three in my Quantum Cop series. Madison is going to get up to all kinds of trouble…

  1. How do you typically begin your projects? Do you create outlines and character profiles or jump in head first with the initial idea? And do you focus on just one at a time?

I typically begin my projects with a physics idea. For The Quantum Cop the idea was: what if the Copenhagen Interpretation of Quantum Mechanics is correct, i.e. what if human beings have a special role in the universe? I followed this idea to its logical conclusion and ended up with a quantum cop. In general, I do very little planning or plotting in advance; I just jump in. I usually work on two novels at once so I have something else to work on when I get blocked or stuck on a project.

  1. What aspect of your writing do you consider your strength? Your weakness?

I’m good at dialogue. Some people think my writing is funny (some don’t!). I hate, hate, hate writing descriptions because I’m bad at them.

  1. After publishing, the next trouble facing writers is marketing. What do you typically do when marketing your novel? Do you have tips you’d like to share?

I’m still learning about marketing. Honestly, I need tips. What do you know about it?

  1. What advice would you give a writer who is starting out?

The best advice I ever got was: write! So, I’m recycling it: write! It’s impossible to be a successful writer without writing. I know this seems obvious, but I know some writers who always seem to be planning to write and somehow never write anything.

I also recommend finding your tribe of writers. Check your local library and online. It’s great to be able to bitch and moan, er, brainstorm and compare notes, with other writers.

Thanks for this interview opportunity! I appreciate it.

Lesley L. Smith, Ph.D. has earned a plethora of degrees, including a M.S. and a Ph.D. in Elementary Particle Physics. In 2012, she added to her collection by completing her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction at Seton Hill University. Dr. Smith’s short science fiction has been published in several venues, such as “Analog Science Fiction and Fact,” “Daily Science Fiction,” and Nano Meets Macro. She is an active member of the Science Fiction/Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) and Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers (RMFW), and is also the founder and editor of Electric Spec.

 Dr. Smith has held a variety of scientific jobs, including investigating quarks, dark matter, extrasolar planets, clouds, atmospheric chemistry, and global warming. She has worked for a variety of research institutions, while her nonfiction articles have been published in venues that include the Physical Review and Modern Physics Letters. She is a long-time member of the The American Physical Society (APS) and The American Geophysical Union (AGU).

For more information, connect with Dr. Smith on her website.

 The Quantum Cop is now available on Amazon, Smashwords and Barnes & Noble.

The next step on the blog tour will be at Addicted to Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

