Barbarian’s Heart

Due to the number of books in this series I’m just going to add the link to the list of books I’ve reviewed by Ruby Dixon.

Barbarian’s Heart   description:

I’ve never spent a day without my mate since arriving on the ice planet. I’m happy and in love, and we have a beautiful child together. All that changed when the world shook.

My mate nearly died.

He wakes up from his coma…and he can’t remember me. Or our son. Every memory of the past two years is gone. And that changes everything between us. How can I love someone that doesn’t remember me?

How can I not, when I know he’s still my mate underneath it all?

heartBOOK 9: Barbarian’s Heart   4 STARS

Is it wrong that I went into this series for the romance, but now all I want is to know more about this planet’s past and the other possible aliens that lived there. Even maybe figure out where the Sa-khui came from, though we’ll probably not be learning more from that ship. And Dixon does deliver in little teasing bits that sets my nerdy heart a flutter. But enough about that, this was a really sweet tale. I read at the end of the book how she had wanted to make it more action packed like the others, but how ultimately it didn’t fit the characters at all, and I agree. While there is a little here and there that would just be a part of a barbarian life, this one is a bit more low key, but that allowed Dixon to really focus on the relationship and emotions these characters were going through in trying to figure out how to be a family again. I think she did a great job with both of them. Especially on Stacy’s end, knowing her mate is still alive and yet in a way going through the grieving process because she’s basically lost the man she knew. Also, it was interesting seeing the dynamics of the relationship when there wasn’t a khui forcing them together. While other books had couples fall in love beforehand, having one like this that were brought together because of the khui really figuring out if they love each other without its’ initial spark was rather wonderful. Sure Stacy has her memories still, but this man is now a stranger, and for Pashov, Stacy is basically just a strange being that popped up suddenly into his life for all he remembers. Altogether, this one might be the more romantic and emotionally touching of the books.

Leave a Reply

