Barbarian’s Hope

Due to the number of books in this series I’m just going to add the link to the list of books I’ve reviewed by Ruby Dixon.

Barbarian’s Hope  description:

Seasons ago, I resonated to the quietest of tribesmates, a male content to love me from afar while I was the center of attention. We could have been happy. Despite our differences, I loved him and he loved me.

But then a terrible thing happened…and my world was never the same again.

Now resonance is giving us a second chance, but…I’m afraid. What if what I have with my mate is too broken to be fixed? What if there’s no hope left for us at all?

barbarains-hopeBOOK 10: Barbarian’s Hope   5 STARS

I love how Dixon continues to include threads from other stories to make these books so well developed. We’re getting another holiday, and in that we see how the events in Ice Planet Holiday continue to affect certain members of the tribe. As well as the return of the one eyed Metlak, and further proof that they are an evolving species far more than the Sa-Khui ever gave them credit for. But of course this is all about the broken relationship between Hemalo and Asha. For a character you start out basically hating, Asha has become someone I’ve really been hoping gets a happy ending, and here we finally get to see the struggles she’s going through, and the problems that tore her and Hemalo apart. The tragedy of losing a child is a serious topic, and Dixon deals with that perfectly. Yes this is just as naughty as the previous books, but it doesn’t cheapen Asha’s or Hemalo’s feelings and working through their grief, and it’s really things like this that has made this series so wonderful to read, and a step above so many other writers attempting to put out the same and failing horribly at it. I loved this story for so many reasons, and it’s why I can’t stop reading this series.

Leave a Reply

