Barbarian’s Choice

Due to the number of books in this series I’m just going to add the link to the list of books I’ve reviewed by Ruby Dixon.

Barbarian’s Choice   description:

I might be the only unmated female in my tribe, but it doesn’t mean I’ve given my heart. I’m waiting. I want resonance, and I won’t settle for anything less.

But when an alien ship lands and a handsome stranger steps out, I know he’s the one. His name’s Mardok and he’s fascinatingly different – and distractingly appealing. But Mardok can’t stay on the ice planet, and he says he can take me with him.

Now, I must make a choice. Do I stay and lose my mate forever? Or do I follow him to the stars and leave behind everything I know?

barbarians-choiceBOOK 11: Barbarian’s Choice   5 STARS

All my questions were finally answered. How long have the Sa-Khui been there? How would their computer know English resembling anything we speak today? What is the spur for? And Dixon answered them all perfectly. As someone who majored in English and studied the way language evolves over time, I particularly liked that the new messakh that land aren’t speaking the same language, and what the Sa-Khui speak is called Old Sakh and is probably as understandable as Old English is to us. But mostly, I liked that with the arrival of a space ship that is more than capable of taking everyone away, we get to experience the dilemma of people who have never had a choice of being here, finally getting to decide if this is truly the place they want to call home. And I was on the edge of my seat wanting to know how it would all turn out. Of course I’ve always loved Farli, she’s always a delight, and now seeing her all grown up was so much fun. Especially considering this is the first view through an unmated female Sa-Khui, and it was kind of hilarious with her very straight forward approach to love when it comes to making the moves on Mardok.However, Mardok was really the interesting POV, with his interactions with his crew and the build up of whether they are there to truly help or will they end up betraying the tribe for their own gain? Altogether, this book might be the most satisfying of all the stories, in that instead of adding more questions, we finally get the full truth about these aliens, even if we are left with a cliffhanger that makes you really wonder how Dixon will handle the next book.

Leave a Reply

