The Nameless City

The Nameless City  by  H.P. Lovecraft

“The Nameless City” is a horror story written by H. P. Lovecraft in January 1921 and first published in the November 1921 issue of the amateur press journal The Wolverine. It is often considered the first Cthulhu Mythos story.

The Nameless City of the story’s title is an ancient ruin located somewhere in the deserts of the Arabian Peninsula and is older than any human civilization.

The Nameless City   2 STARS

This is an extremely short story. It is also the first story I’ve read by Lovecraft. Perhaps because I’ve read so much about him and know his stories are about the strange unknown horrible things that lurk in the night I wasn’t surprised by how this went about. The main character seems to have held onto denial a bit too much, but I do understand that sense of adventure and need to know that can drive a person into places they know they shouldn’t go. It’s that foolhardy idiocy of sensing something in the dark, being afraid it’s probably there to kill you, but having to know exactly what it is before you die. That wanting to know the truth of the abyss is the driving force of this story, which it does well, but it fails in any real sense of horror since it is so obvious from the get go. And I honestly don’t get why this is considered the first of the Cthulhu stories, It really doesn’t seem to have anything to do with Cthulhu as much as some other creepy crawlies.

2 thoughts on “The Nameless City

  1. I am not well-versed in Cthulhu; however, my husband is a huge Lovecraft fan (ironic; given his refusal to watch horrors films or TWD with me); and he reads me some of his stories. My favourite is “The Hound;” also quite short; and I would be interested to know your thoughts on it…

    Like

    • I actually hate horror films. And anything zombie is the worst. I actually get really bad nightmares from such. But books I can handle a bit better. Especially in small doses, and I got a collection of his stories on ebook I’m reading through but I’ll keep my eye out for The Hound.

      Like

Leave a Reply

