Water Intoxication… It’s Real

In less than a month’s time I’ll be turning 29, so you may be surprised to hear last night was the first time I ever went bar hopping, but I doubt you’d be surprised to know I woke up this morning with a horrible hangover. The only problem is I didn’t drink a drop of alcohol. That’s right, I was pounding water all night. You see I don’t drink, which is probably why it’s taken this long for someone to invite me on such an excursion. And I’m not some kind of health nut, drinking water regularly is probably about the only healthy thing I do, and the only reason I was drinking it so much last night was because it was rather warm out and walking from one place to the next I was thirsty. Plus, water is free, and kind of helped balance out the tab my husband and friends were accruing. But looking back I realize I wasn’t just drinking water, I was drinking it like it was going out of style.

Starting at the restaurant at 6pm where I drank at least a pitcher if not more on my own, and then at each bar until well after midnight I was having one glass after the next, until finally I reached a point I couldn’t take another sip. So while my friends, who were enjoying Long Island Ice Teas, Crown and Coke, and some other combination of drinks I can’t even remember, were feeling giddy and laughing, I (the sober one) was feeling like I was about to pass out or throw up. I was the one dragging myself into bed feeling the pain, and while both me and hubs woke up to a couple of Excedrin’s, I was the one with stomach cramps, dry heaving, and a headache that made the slightest bit of light or movement a painful experience. He was up and perky, and I looked like the one who had one too many the night before.

The fact is, you can have too much of a good thing. We think of water and think that’s healthy, our body needs it, drinking water is easily the best thing you can do for yourself. But it also flushes your system, and can cause your sodium levels to drop. Yep, we need some salty goodness at times. Now, luckily, my case wasn’t too severe, though it honestly felt like it. There have been instances where people died from such, usually athletes who are trying to stay hydrated while they’re sweating it out. But it’s why drinks like Gatorade or Powerade may be a good thing to toss in every now and then to help replenish what water is washing away. Being the sober person is an important thing in a group, especially when your husband gets so bad he can’t remember the name of the hotel you’re staying at. So stay sober, but remember a nice glass of Sprite or Ginger Ale (my drinks of choice) can do the job just as easily as water.

One thought on “Water Intoxication… It’s Real

Leave a Reply

