Strangest Browser Searches

I was tagged by Kyle Robert Schultz who apparently hates me and wants me to reveal how boring my writings really are through the sad things I end up searching for. I happily left out all the searches that included me trying to figure out how to spell a word, or if that word even meant what I thought it did. As well as the searches that was just me trying to figure out what an outfit actually looked like during whatever time period. There is also a good mix of me googling translations of words so I can be cool and toss a little Latin in there at times, and unfortunately must admit I’ve forgotten everything from the 4 semesters of Latin that I took in college. So while Kyle went on to list far more than the asked for 5 searches, and showed how cool he is, these are the few pitiful things that keep me up at night trying to get my stories right.

  1. Bandits in the 15th century

Now I know what you’re thinking, why would I search such a thing, a bandit is a bandit. Honestly I wanted to know if it really was such an issue, and not just a fiction created by Hollywood. Surprisingly the “Highway men” weren’t Robin Hoods, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. They were basically gangs, but also at times they were actual nobles themselves I suppose needing money to stay fancy, or just charging people illegal tolls to be on their land. Either way it was interesting.

  1. When did the Roman Empire rule France

You see I have these vampires that have a French last name, just cause, but they’re also really ancient. Plus I wanted them to be a part of a civilization that believed in things like gods and magic and possibly could be responsible for accidentally creating the first vampire. Don’t worry, it’ll all make sense later.

  1. Name meaning

I do this a lot because for some reason I haven’t bookmarked the site that I like using to search for names through their meanings. I like giving my characters fitting monikers (and yes I did just google moniker) that represent a piece of their personality. I’m awesome like that.

  1. How does a spinning wheel work?

I know you’ll be shocked, but I’m writing a retelling of Sleeping Beauty and it occurred to me that the spinning wheel being such a huge part of that story it’d probably be good to know how they work and why there is even a pointy bit on it. It actually led to me learning about a spinning whorl and how much more interesting and devious it would be to use one of those instead. Try to refrain from stealing my amazing ideas.

  1. A Duke in Germany

Another shocker, a fairy tale retelling in the black forest of Germany. Actually it doesn’t specifically say where it is, but considering all the Germanic stuff that really hangs around fairy tales I thought it’d be cool to toss in some Germanic titles. Which I suppose also counts as me looking for a translation for a word, but geez I needed one more to list. By the way a duke in Germany is called a Herzog. Nifty stuff there.

Now that is my sad little list. And I’m not evil like Kyle and so won’t force such things upon other poor authors whose google searches are less than fascinating. But if you wish to carry on in this wonderful good fun then here is essentially the rules that you can choose to ignore.

  • Access your browser history
  • Pick at least 5 of your strangest searches you’ve had to look up as a writer
  • List them below with an explanation as to why you had to look them up
  • Tag 2-5 other bloggers

 

2 thoughts on “Strangest Browser Searches

Leave a Reply

